shortcut to content

Berne-Knox-Westerlo masthead

Central School District logo type

Berne-Knox-Westerlo Board of Education

About the Board of Education

The Berne-Knox-Westerlo School District Board of Education is a five-member board elected by the community to establish policy and direct the administration of the district's schools. Board members are given the charge of exercising the community's rights to citizen control over public education. Members of the BKW School Board serve three-year terms.


2016-17 Board of Education Members

Matthew Tedeschi, President
Lillian Sisson-Chrysler, Vice President
Russell Chauvot
Nathan Elble
Kimberly Lovell




Regular Board meetings are conducted in district buildings (typically in the Business Office) and usually begin at 7 p.m. If you're not sure when or where the BOE meeting you'd like to attend takes place, visit our meetings page.

The public is invited to all Board of Education meetings. Community members have an opportunity to speak on issues concerning them during the time set aside for "public discussion."

Individuals or groups may request to put an item on the agenda by contacting the Superintendent’s office no later than Wednesday prior to the meeting.


Contacting the Board

If you would like to send a comment to members of the Board of Education you may e-mail them at Please be advised that a copy of your e-mail will also be automatically forwarded to the superintendent.



Policies adopted by the BKW Board of Education are public documents. Click here to view the BKW Board of Education policy book online.

If you would like to review the policy book in person, call the district office at 872-1293 to make an appointment.